The ceremony celebrated the name inscriptions of the following laureates:
Martin Karplus, chemistry; Michael Levitt, chemistry; Arieh Warshel, chemistry; James E. Rothman, medicine; Randy W. Schekman, medicine; Thomas C. Südhof, medicine; Eugene F. Fama, economics; Lars Peter Hansen, economics; and Robert J. Shiller, economics.
The new inscriptions of the nine 2013 American Nobel Laureates were unveiled by Swedish and Norwegian Ambassadors to the United States, Björn Lyrvall and Kåre R. Aas, and New York City Parks Commissioner, Mitchell J. Silver, FAICP.
In attendance were four of the 2013 Nobel Laureates — Michael Levitt (chemistry), James E. Rothman (medicine), Lars Peter Hansen (economics) and Robert J. Schiller (economics).

Since 1901, when the prize was first presented, 341 Americans have been recognized for their groundbreaking achievements in medicine, psychics, literature, chemistry and for promoting peace. No other country has had as many Nobel Prize recipients as the United States.


The ceremony was concluded with the unveiling of the new name inscriptions and followed by a reception in the Power House banquet hall at the American Museum of Natural History.

Among the guests were: Nobel Laureates Robert J. Lefkowitz (chemistry, 2012) and Eric S. Maskin (economics, 2007); acting commissioner Bradford E. Billet, Mayor’s Office for International Affairs; Mikael Dolsten, president of Pfizer Worldwide Research and Development, and his wife Catarina Dolsten; Craig B. Thompson, president and CEO of Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, and his wife Tullia Lindsten; Barbro Ehnbom, founder and chairman of the Swedish-American Life Science Summit; and students and teachers from The Brearley School on the Upper East Side.

A Nobel Monument was erected in 2003 with the purpose of honoring all American Nobel Laureates as well as the founder of the Nobel Prize, Alfred Nobel. It is the only monument in New York City parks which features the names of living persons and it is fittingly placed in the park named after the first American Nobel Prize recipient, President Theodore Roosevelt.

The event was presented by the Consulate General of Sweden in New York and co-hosted by the embassies of Sweden and Norway as well as the New York City Department of Parks and Recreation.

See photos from the ceremony and reception on the Consulate's Flickr: med länk: Nobel Inscription Ceremony and Reception

For more information:

Text: Lisa Laskaridis Sarmiento, Consulate General of Sweden