The 2010 Nobel Prize in literature goes to the not unknown Peruvian writer Mario Vargas Llosa.

He receives the prize “for his cartography of structures of power and his trenchant images of the individual’s resistance, revolt, and defeat".


Vargas Llosa, who was born in Peru in 1936, is one of South America’s most significant novelists and essayists, and one of the leading authors of his generation. Vargas Llosa rose to fame in the 1960’s with novels like “The Time of the Hero”, “The Green House” and the monumental “Conversation in the Cathedral”.

His works include comedies, murder mysteries, historical novels, and political thrillers. Many of Vargas Llosa’s works are influenced by the writer’s perception of Peruvian society and his own experiences as a native Peruvian. Increasingly, however, he has expanded his range, and tackled themes that arise from other parts of the world. Another change over the course of his career has been a shift from a style and approach associated with literary modernism, to a sometimes playful postmodernism.

The Nobel Committee has since 1901 honored outstanding individuals in the fields of science, peace and literature with a medal, a personal diploma and a monetary award.

'Nobel by Name, Noble by Nature' - more on Alfred Nobel, the man and the inventor that created the Prize:

More info on the Nobel Foundation and prizes: